Bacon Makes it Better

You know it’s true.

Sorry, vegetarian friends, but bacon.  It just makes everything better.

Including ice cream!

Last year I ventured into the world of bacon desserts, beginning with chocolate-covered bacon.  It did NOT disappoint.  Wowza.
But that is another post for another day.  Today, it’s all about ice cream.  I mean, summer’s here and all…time to bust out the frozen treats!  Well, truth be told, I come from a long line of hard-core ice cream addicts, which means there is no inappropriate temperature or climate for enjoying it.

Anytime is a good time for ice cream.

Anytime is a good time for bacon.

Need I say more?!

Oh, I suppose you might want the recipe.  So here you go.  I modified my recipe from the one I found here on the Food Network.  I have a tried-and-true method of making my ice cream so that it is just a wee bit less bad-for-you…one I have been using for several years to keep my heart-conditioned hubby happy and healthy.  How’s that for alliteration?  Anyway, I took the base concept but trimmed it down.  You know, with bacon in it and all, you could stand to cut just a *few* calories and grams of fat.  Right?  Or just go hog-wild (baaaad pun) and make the custardy goodness from the folks at Food Network.  Either way, you will be so very, very delighted.

Unless you’re a vegetarian.  Then you need to repent.  😉

MAPLE BACON CRUNCH ICE CREAM

Ingredients
Ice Cream Base:
2 c. low-fat plain yogurt (I make my own)
1 c. whole milk
1/2 c. maple syrup
1/4 c. sugar

Bacon Brittle:
1 T. salted butter
5 strips bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled
1 c. sugar
1/2 t. baking soda
1/8 t. chipotle chili powder (really!  Fear not – it really is amazing!)

Method
Whisk together all the ingredients for your ice cream base, stirring 2-3 minutes to dissolve sugar.  Refrigerate while making the brittle.

In a medium saucepan, melt sugar over medium heat, stirring constantly until all crystals are dissolved, being careful not to burn it.  Remove from heat, stir in butter.  Carefully stir in baking soda and chili powder.  I went light on the chipotle, not sure how strong it would come through.  Next time I will use more.  The smoky-ness brought out the bacon flavor beautifully.  It was not spicy or weird at all!  Now, gently stir in your bacon crumbles.  Pour onto a baking sheet (I, of course, used my silicone-coated pan.  If you don’t have one of those, or a SilPat, use parchment or make sure to grease up your pan so your brittle will not stick).

Allow to set 15 minutes before lifting/breaking it up.  I put the pieces in a big Ziploc bag and let my 6-year-old smash them up with a mallet.  Great little tension reliever there!  Who said bacon wasn’t good for you?  And sugar too, for that matter.

Now, get out the ice cream base, and your ice cream maker, and churn away.  Add the brittle right at the end once your ice cream is starting to look like soft serve (20-30 minutes).  Of course, during that lengthy waiting period, feel free to snack on your meaty brittle to your heart’s delight.  The original recipe says to use only a third of the brittle in the ice cream.  I disagree…use at least half, or more…as much as you can keep from devouring in a half-hour!

IMG_20140615_152017
Bacon Brittle: words fail me.

The candy part of the brittle will partially dissolve into the ice cream, giving you not only a crunch but also a caramel-y ripple.  Add to that the smoky, salty bacon…my eyes were rolling back into my head!

The next day, I had another revelation – waffle bowls.  I have a waffle cone maker so this was a snap.  I’m sure most <sane> people don’t own all the gadgets from an ice cream shop, so feel free to just buy these if you want a truly off-the-hook treat.

IMG_20140616_224424
The Ultimate Breakfast Dessert

Hope you try it – and love it!
Monique

Leave a Reply

