Double Chocolate Muffins (allergy friendly)

Problem: you’ve just made a tasty Thai recipe that required half a can of coconut milk, and the remainder needs to be used within two days.  What to do, what to do?  Not being one to waste, I decided to try my hand at some dairy-free baking.  I have a friend who was recently diagnosed with dairy and gluten allergies (boo!), so I figured a little allergy-friendly treat would brighten her day.  Enter my good ol’ Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free flour, some cocoa powder and extra-dark chocolate chips…and…bam!  Decadent, dairy- and gluten-free muffins!

Image

They are so easy, and don’t have a trace of that signature gluten-free-cardboard texture we all love to hate.  I hired my hubby as a blind taste-tester, and before learning they were DF and GF he thought they were pretty good.  After I let him in on my little secret, he said “WOW!  Well in that case, these are amazing!”

Image

GLUTEN & DAIRY FREE DOUBLE CHOCOLATE MUFFINS

Ingredients
1/4 c. sugar (can be unrefined, coconut…whatever suits your fancy)
1/4 c. coconut oil
1 egg
1 1/4 c. sifted GF flour (that’s sifted prior to measuring, for all you bakers out there like me who have ever wondered)
1/2 c. cocoa powder
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. coconut milk
1 c. extra dark, dairy free, chocolate chips (I used Guittard)

Method
Preheat oven to 375F.
Cream together sugar and coconut oil.  Blend in the egg.  In a separate bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.  Add half to the oil mixture, stirring to combine.  Mix in milk.  Mix in remaining flour, and fold in chocolate chips (reserve a handful to sprinkle on top if you like).

Fill paper-lined baking cups 2/3 full.  My recipe made a dozen exactly.
Image
Bake about 20 minutes, and cool on a wire rack.
Image
Sound like a decadent breakfast?  I think so!  But almost completely guilt free!  Remember, dark chocolate is *good* for you!  Antioxidants, yes please!

In Him,
Monique

Leave a Reply

